Decio Lourenco: The man behind “Spoofing the Traffic Camera – Longboarding without Limits”

Ever since I saw the video titled “Spoofing the Traffic Camera – Long-boarding without Limits”, I have been obsessed! The video shows how a daredevil aka Decio Lourenco, plunged down Kloof Nek in Cape Town (between Table Mountain and Lion’s Head) on his long-board (not skateboard…I learnt that there’s a difference, so best not get confused) without any safety gear, save a helmet. The video went viral and of course the authorities got pissed!!

I was… and still am mesmerised by the skill it took him to get down that hill, using his hands as brakes no less.

Giving a new meaning to the words "Hand brake" :)

Giving a new meaning to the words “Hand brake” 🙂

Why the obsession?

To be honest, growing up I have never been a skateboard / longboard fan. Perhaps it was due to never “getting the hang” of the hobby or perhaps due to the lack of skateboard / longboarding culture where I live.

My toys growing up consisted of hand-me-downs from my older brother or toys which were bought for him i.e. toy cars, cricket sets, soccer sets… which I loved by the way; and one neglected skateboard which my brother sprayed neon purple… some insight into the male influence in my life.

Getting back to Decio, I heard about him on one of the local South African radio stations, which cast him as a  deviant individual doing dangerous stunts and causing havoc  in our city.  They were discussing the dangers of having gone down Kloof Nek in the early morning, with some traffic on the road and without wearing adequate safety gear; not to mention the fact that he set off the traffic camera on way down.

As it stands, Decio faces charges of reckless endangerment and he will not be given the option of a fine! Click HERE for full article on what happened. Yes, it seems the authorities really want to stop this vigilante.  He was after all, going downhill at a speed of approximately 110km/h in a 60km/h zone. So bad, I know! Apparently Decio had an ankle monitor which registered the actual speed… Hmm, wonder what it read.

What I think about it:
Personally, I do think it is extremely dangerous and may even spark copycat acts around Cape Town. Then again, humans tend to copy anything that’s “in” – like sheep, they will follow anything. I see this everyday. Anyway, I get why authorities would be ‘concerned’. There was a tragic incident in March last year (2012), where a Jo’burg luge rider Carlos Trancoso, was killed, after being run over by an oncoming truck while skating (or is it luging?) down the Franschhoek pass. See article on Carlos HERE.

Nonetheless, despite the danger aspect, I simply cannot, CANNOT get over the total awesomeness of this skill!

Luge, luge skating, luge rider

This is what a luge looks like

The solution…?
So everyone has pointed out the problem, who’s going to present a solution? It seems that finger-pointing is the order of the day and that Cape Town Officials are adamant to make an example of Decio-  hang him out to dry and show him who’s boss!! Personally, I think that instead of accusing, fining and formally charging, perhaps a light sentence such as community service and a public verbal warning should suffice.

Then, once they are satisfied with their punishments, perhaps they should consider budgeting for some infrastructure or facilities that support this “alternate sport”.

The man is clearly a skilled professional and admittedly so,  he told reporters the same thing. If you watch the video, you can see him constantly checking over his shoulder for traffic behind him, before crossing lanes. (Im clearly no making excuses for the dude)

One has to wonder the amount of practice hours that went into training. And ,cough,  WHERE?? All of a sudden authorities want to stamp their disapproval! Come on, perhaps if they had been monitoring the area in the first place, they would have caught him in action long ago!

Punishing someone for unacceptable behaviour is all good and well but there is clearly a demand…

Check out the video and decide for yourself. What do you think?  Are you as “in awe” as I am or are you repulsed by this daredevil’s bad example?

Age 24, a graphic design student from who knows where…? See the video for yourself!

I maintain that it’s bloody awesome!

PS: I have been struggling with the video as I don’t think that WordPress supports the video uploading. I have made provisions by uploading some snaps of the video of said skills in action. If you know of an easy way to upload a WordPress video then please let me know.

Enjoy!

ToxicSweety over and out!

And off he goes

Off he goes down Kloof Nek. As you can see, there’s some traffic in the oncoming lane.

Fowzia Gamiet - ToxicSweetys Pensieve - Decio Lourenco Down Kloof Nek Cape Town 1 (2)

Approaching the speed camera (see the yellow pole on the left)

Fowzia Gamiet - ToxicSweetys Pensieve - Decio Lourenco Down Kloof Nek Cape Town 1 (3)

Caught in action as the camera snaps him!

Fowzia Gamiet - ToxicSweetys Pensieve - Decio Lourenco Down Kloof Nek Cape Town 1 (4)

Celebrating…?

Fowzia Gamiet - ToxicSweetys Pensieve - Decio Lourenco Down Kloof Nek Cape Town 1 (5)

Yeah, definitely celebrating!

Fowzia Gamiet - ToxicSweetys Pensieve - Decio Lourenco Down Kloof Nek Cape Town 1 (6)

Concentration

Fowzia Gamiet - ToxicSweetys Pensieve - Decio Lourenco Down Kloof Nek Cape Town 1 (7)

Wait for it…

Fowzia Gamiet - ToxicSweetys Pensieve - Decio Lourenco Down Kloof Nek Cape Town 1 (8)

Oh and the “handbrake” is used!

Fowzia Gamiet - ToxicSweetys Pensieve - Decio Lourenco Down Kloof Nek Cape Town 1 (9)

Watch the swaying happening

Fowzia Gamiet - ToxicSweetys Pensieve - Decio Lourenco Down Kloof Nek Cape Town 1 (10)

Weeeeeeee

Fowzia Gamiet - ToxicSweetys Pensieve - Decio Lourenco Down Kloof Nek Cape Town 1 (11)

You can see the skid marks on the road 😉

Fowzia Gamiet - ToxicSweetys Pensieve - Decio Lourenco Down Kloof Nek Cape Town 1 (12)

Fowzia Gamiet - ToxicSweetys Pensieve - Decio Lourenco Down Kloof Nek Cape Town 1 (13)

Gaining momentum again

Fowzia Gamiet - ToxicSweetys Pensieve - Decio Lourenco Down Kloof Nek Cape Town 1 (14)

“Handbrake” is used once again. Notice the car in front.Fowzia Gamiet - ToxicSweetys Pensieve - Decio Lourenco Down Kloof Nek Cape Town 1 (16)

Some last minute skiing before he heads down one of the side roads.
Authored by Fowzia Gamiet, ToxicSweety's Pensieve is a written montage of memories, experiences and anything current and newsworthy. Taken from the Harry Potter series specifically "Goblet of Fire" a "pensieve" is a magical repository for memories. I always love hearing from readers of my blog, so please leave your memory/ comment on ToxicSweety's Pensieve. Enjoy!

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Recreational Interests, The Feel Good Section
4 comments on “Decio Lourenco: The man behind “Spoofing the Traffic Camera – Longboarding without Limits”
  1. He didn’t use his bear hands to break. Longboarders have sliding gloves with an extremely strong piece of plastic (the puck) attached to the glove that us longboarders use to slide to break speed. I don’t like people who assume things they don’t even know anything about. Second of all, he shouldn’t be fined and no punishment at all should be given to him. There was no sign put up that says ‘no skateboarding’ or anything like that. People want to fine him but there aren’t any hills, etc. built for longboarding where we are aloud to longboard. He is a professional longboarder and believe me he knew what he was doing.

    Like

    • ToxicSweety says:

      Hi Canibal Bunny SA
      Thank you for your comment. At first, I thought your comment was rather lighthearted and in good faith. I realise however that that is not the case. I have said before that I welcome comment but I strongly urge that you take your personal agenda elsewhere. This is a blog where I air personal views and not a platform for individuals who attempt intelligence with bad grammar and rude comments.

      To respond to your comment:

      Firstly it’s bare hands, not bear hands.
      Secondly, I said he used “his hands”, not he used his “bare hands”. Do not assume “bare”!
      Thirdly, the reason why I said “hands” was to emphasis the absence of a tool. Cars use brakes, and Decio used his hands (bare or otherwise was not the point). I know he had gloves on. That was evident when he looks at his hands after “braking”.
      Fourthly, you said “I don’t like people who assume things they don’t even know anything about”. My response: I will assume what I please. This is my blog and that is my right. I do not care if you do not like me because of the fact that I assume things. If you look at what the post was about, it was the fact that I was in awe of a man’s skills. Your response about who you like is irrelevant and quite frankly very rude!
      Fifthly, your closing comment just re-iterates my point about there being no sufficient facilities available. It is just a repetition of what I already said!

      Finally, thank you for commenting. I hope next time you drop by, you will take into account what the author is actually saying. This was a positive (opinionated) article which I thought others would appreciate. It was not an academic, political or negative one. Lighten up!

      Like

  2. RoxyUncut says:

    Geez taking extreme to a whole new level!

    Like

Comment and leave your blog link below

Submit email address here

Join 1,405 other followers

Search the archives
Follow me on Twitter
Instagram
This is how I spent my "Braai Day" 😍💍💞 Tied the knot and became a wifey! And ofcourse my Bujinkan peeps came in style ... Katana-clad. 
#Wedding #Bujinkan #Bride #HennaArt #Mendhi #MuslimBride #Katana #HeritageDay #BraaiDay True story.  The greatest prison people live in... #Inspiration #Prison #FreeYourMind #Africa #Fear #GreatestFear #BelieveInYourself
ToxicSweety’s Global Reach
Map
Since September 2012
  • 20,855 visitors
wordpress visitor counter
