How to gain traffic/ followers to your blog

As some of you might know, I occasionally respond to blog post requests, should I feel the requested topic relevant to me or to my readers. Through my blog and other social media platforms, I offer assistance to my readers. This article will cover the requested topic about “gaining followers to your blog”.

To start off, I’m going to put it out there that I am by no means a “pro” and that there is still so much that I need to learn. If you are a regular reader of my blog, you’ll notice that I am constantly changing and updating the layout, colours, font, links, tabs and even my writing styles. My attitude is such that if someone can learn from the knowledge that I have gained, then I will gladly assist. Remember, through teaching we also learn.

Please note that if you have anything to add to this post then by all means, contribute your input at the end of the article so that we may all benefit from each other and in doing so, increase the blogging experience for all bloggers alike.

Alrighty then let’s get to it. What I have found is that the way to gain followers is to follow 4 simple steps:

STEP 1:
It seems obvious but the first step is to be original. With so many bloggers out there and even more bloggers “catching on” to blogging,  it’s hard to distinguish yourself from the next blogger… or so it seems. Compare the various blogs to each other, focusing especially on the established blogs and you will notice that even similar genres of blogs DO have differences. Established, successful blogs seem to have mastered the concept of gaining traffic, input and interaction to their blogs. It’s not that hard if you focus on what YOU are passionate about. Blogging is easier if the topics come naturally. Otherwise, you’re just wasting your time because sooner or later you will lose interest or worse, your readers will lose interest. Just relax, think and focus on you. Like-minded individuals like you, will be attracted to your profile. You know what they say about birds of feather… they blog together 🙂

Play nicely now :)

Play nicely now 🙂

STEP 2:
Interact
 with other bloggers. Like you, other bloggers also seek traffic volumes. A good starting point would be some reciprocity. Read other bloggers’ posts and leave a comment, preferably a comment that shows you’ve actually read their piece and not a generic comment… and follow their blog too.

Don’t ask for “follow backs”, it makes you seem desperate. Rather add a link to your blog, after your comment. If you’re commenting via your blog though, it usually automatically links back to your blog.

Say something like:

Hi Blogger X! Your post on world domination is really fascinating! I did a similar post on brainwashing. Visit my blog to check it out here: www.toxicsweetyspensieve.wordpress.com

ToxicSweety's Pensieve Blog Header

STEP 3:
Be proactive in getting your name out there and don’t rely on others to market you. You are responsible for your own branding. Yes, you are a brand. Now that you are blogging, you need to be sensitive to what affects your brand. Get into the mind frame that your name is your brand.

It is helpful to join networking sites such as blogfrogbloglovin and LinkedIn to connect with like-minded individuals. LinkedIn has numerous “groups” dedicated to communities which focus on various writing (or other) interests that you may have. If you join one of these groups, you will be able to hold discussions around your area of interest (depending on what your group is focusing on). If there is no group that shares your interest available,  then you can start a group and invite others to it.

I don’t utilise LinkedIn groups for my blogging, as much as I would like to due to the fact that my LinkedIn profile centres around my career i.e. I work at a Global Recruitment Company, so my LinkedIn network is made up of professionals with whom I deal with on a daily basis, for work purposes… which of course demands a certain level of “professionalism” on my part.

Remember what I said about brand sensitivity? Well, I do not want to confuse my network with too much ‘personal’ blog-promoting. I interact with professionals from various industries and across all levels ranging from mid-level managers to your C-level Executives. Spamming my LinkedIn profile with “pleeease check out my blog” would affect my professional brand.

I still publish relevant articles to LinkedIn though… After all, they are still entitled to my opinion. 🙂

The confusion comes in because I also have a professional blog. In my work capacity I utilise social media platforms  such as Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and WordPress as well. You can see how important maintaining the boundary so that everyone knows which capacity (personal or professional) you are using each platform for. What I’ve actually resigned myself to do, is to have separate accounts for each platform, both personal and professional. See below for my professional links:

Twitter

Facebook

LinkedIn

Jobs Blog

Having separate accounts helps remove any confusion from those that I interact with, in the different roles in my life… especially because of my strong opinions.

STEP 4:
Finally, if you haven’t started blogging yet and are undecided as to which platform to use, I would like to recommend WordPress. WordPress bloggers seem to be friendlier and more inclined to follow your blog and interact with you (especially when reciprocated).

I actually migrated from Blogspot to WordPress (and also changed the blog name altogether) which was a drastic move I know, but well worth it, as my intentions were SEO-motivated. You can read all about my Blogspot exit HERE.

To be honest, I’m actually considering running my blog on both platforms as WordPress does have its faults but for now the WordPress benefits outweigh the Blogspot benefits, for me at least. I have also received more followers on WordPress than Blogspot. Although, that could also be due to my increase in posts, increase in blog promotion or improved writing techniques.

Which platform has worked best for you?

I hope that this post was helpful. If you think that you have anything useful to add, then feel free to add your comments below.

Don’t forget to follow my Twitter feeds.

Join my Facebook community.

Check out my newly updated Pinterest.

I leave you with the following thought:

Human beings are individuals, and blogs should reflect that individuality.” – Fowzia Gamiet

So, who are you…?

Till next time…

ToxicSweety over and out

This article featured as a guest-post on the Build SA website. Check it out HERE.

Authored by Fowzia Gamiet, ToxicSweety's Pensieve is a written montage of memories, experiences and anything current and newsworthy. Taken from the Harry Potter series specifically "Goblet of Fire" a "pensieve" is a magical repository for memories. I always love hearing from readers of my blog, so please leave your memory/ comment on ToxicSweety's Pensieve. Enjoy!

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Blogging, Education, Guest Blogging, How to, Twitter Topics
10 comments on “How to gain traffic/ followers to your blog
  1. Thank you for such a helpful post! I’ve started blogging due to a large number of requests by my friends, family, and colleagues and have been trying to get a handle on it for two months (and finally feel like it is starting to gain a rhythm). I never considered the importance of interacting with other bloggers by commenting on other peoples’ posts. It makes sense and I will take your advice in due course. Cheers!

    Like

    • ToxicSweety says:

      Hi Serina

      We think that something as small as communicating with other Bloggers’ is not that important but I have been inactive for the past month due to personal reasons; and you can notice the decline in traffic. It helps a lot to interact 🙂

      Thank you for dropping by and I’m glad that my post was helpful.

      Like

  2. Saajida says:

    Thanks for sharing these tips.

    I have also blogged on Blogspot before and I’m now on WordPress. My blogspot account was for a uni project and my experience with it at that time seemed satisfactory. I stopped blogging for about 2 years before returning and signing up with WordPress. WP has been amazing thus far and certainly outdid my blogging experience on Blogspot. I felt that WP blog themes just looked neater (i hate ads popping up spontaneously) and it was much more user-friendly.

    Like

    • ToxicSweety says:

      Hi Saajida

      You are welcome. Thank you for dropping by.

      I also like the WordPress themes. I’m actually on the lookout for a new one. I think I have too much pictures at the moment and it’s looking a bit “busy”, if you know what I mean. About the ads thing that you mentioned… Im a bit confused. I thought that WP does run ads. Or did you purchase the no-ad add-on?

      Like

  3. helena says:

    This was really useful thanks. Lots of people look at my blogs but no one comments but i would like to be able to interact

    Like

  4. Monika says:

    Agreed with all the points..

    Like

  5. saurabhkumar83009 says:

    Hey Fowzia,
    Beautifully written piece here and quite informative! Thanks! For SEO, backlinks also would matter. Most of the quality backlinks would be received through sheer hardwork and continuous quality posting. However, for a jumpstart towards improving the way google crawlers index your site, the IMTalk website submission would be a good start. I have a detailed review here in my blog, if it helps:
    http://jeeraaf.com/2013/02/15/get-2500-backlinks-for-free/

    I am following your posts through Facebook, I will take some time to catch up though.. ;=)

    Should you like what I have in my blog, It would be a pleasure to stay connected over facebook. Here is my Facebook Page:
    https://www.facebook.com/TechTipper

    Till next time, Cheers & Stay Safe! 🙂

    Like

  6. RoxyUncut says:

    Oh wheres my manners. Shukran for doing this post. Your contribution to my growth as a blogger is acknowledged and appreciated

    Like

  7. RoxyUncut says:

    Ok…. I’ll read again second time helps absorb more. As for world domination hmmm…….. how’s about you dominate and I’ll do a feature post on my blog! So I have a facebook profile which I use to share links to my weekly posts. Do you recommend a seperate page that promotes my blog?

    Like

Comment and leave your blog link below

Submit email address here

Join 1,405 other followers

Search the archives
Follow me on Twitter
Instagram
This is how I spent my "Braai Day" 😍💍💞 Tied the knot and became a wifey! And ofcourse my Bujinkan peeps came in style ... Katana-clad. 
#Wedding #Bujinkan #Bride #HennaArt #Mendhi #MuslimBride #Katana #HeritageDay #BraaiDay True story.  The greatest prison people live in... #Inspiration #Prison #FreeYourMind #Africa #Fear #GreatestFear #BelieveInYourself
ToxicSweety’s Global Reach
Map
Since September 2012
  • 20,855 visitors
wordpress visitor counter
