Animated GIFs: Political tools or High school the stuff of junior high-school shenanigans?

Despite my keen interest in technology, the nitty gritty techno jargon is not really my forte. Nonetheless, this is probably a post where my readers would know more than me and this is where I urge you to contribute. I can only provide my understanding of a topic.

Anyway, as I’m sure many of you are probably aware, a GIF or Graphics Interchange Format is a type of format for image files. It is a popular modern format with built-in data compression, which is a fancy way of saying that this particular format of file is designed by compressing the image data to reduce the transfer time.

Now, to be honest, I was not even aware that the GIF was given so much thought that it was even considered a “Political tool” of any sorts. As far as I am aware, political campaigns, Olympic advertising and even high-school shenanigans start with a goal in mind: “Reach maximum or target audience.”

Brand managers and large marketing companies exist because there is a need for organisations and individuals to get their message out there. That after time the GIF evolved to an “animated GIF” and then to meme status quoting the catch phrase “haters gonna hate”, well… is it not then mission accomplished?

Haters gonna hate

Haters gonna hate

Political and Olympic campaigns are headed up by; I would imagine educated or at least market-aware individuals. Clearly the GIF and animated GIF are tools, albeit simple, that will gain the attention of their target audience. Simple and efficient; mission accomplished. (for them).  I see no issue with that and I guess it’s true what they say… “Haters gonna hate!”

My kind of Animated GIF (Jensen Ackles)

My kind of Animated GIF  ladies 🙂 (Jensen Ackles)

This post written in response to the WordPress weekly writing challenge

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: @Fowzia_Gamiet

ToxicSweety over and out!

Authored by Fowzia Gamiet, ToxicSweety's Pensieve is a written montage of memories, experiences and anything current and newsworthy. Taken from the Harry Potter series specifically "Goblet of Fire" a "pensieve" is a magical repository for memories. I always love hearing from readers of my blog, so please leave your memory/ comment on ToxicSweety's Pensieve. Enjoy!

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in DP Challenge, Technology, Weekly Writing Challenge

Comment and leave your blog link below

Submit email address here

Join 1,405 other followers

Search the archives
Follow me on Twitter
Instagram
This is how I spent my "Braai Day" 😍💍💞 Tied the knot and became a wifey! And ofcourse my Bujinkan peeps came in style ... Katana-clad. 
#Wedding #Bujinkan #Bride #HennaArt #Mendhi #MuslimBride #Katana #HeritageDay #BraaiDay True story.  The greatest prison people live in... #Inspiration #Prison #FreeYourMind #Africa #Fear #GreatestFear #BelieveInYourself
ToxicSweety’s Global Reach
Map
Since September 2012
  • 20,855 visitors
wordpress visitor counter
