Children in an adult world

Everyone knows that once you have children time becomes a luxury. As a parent/guardian you barely have time to sit down to enjoy the word ‘enjoy’ let alone fathom the concept of going out with your partner, alone. In the end you resign yourself to the idea that the only way you would get to see the world beyond the 4 walls of your home, is to center your plans around your children’s mood and sleep patterns and accept the fact that if you don’t have a nanny, you’re stuck with your mini-me as your third wheel for the next few years, perhaps even more than a few.

The problem is that the places you generally enjoy attending can only be appreciated by adults. I’m talking about your places of sanity- fancy restaurants, artsy museums, movie theatres and even change-rooms at the clothing store. It seems that not everyone shares the sentiment of “joy” when around your Little Bundle. And I don’t blame them…! You see, entertainment is a personal preference. So are having children. (In some cases it’s more so the conception of the child than having the child that is the preference) Nonetheless these are things that you need to take into account now that you are a parent/guardian i.e. the child-friendly nature of the destination. You are not the only one who has to consider the possibility of children-appropriateness of the destination. Those who do not wish to see or hear children, plan accordingly by going to specific restaurants or attend at specific times…

It’s all a matter of mathematics- at the end of the day, when choosing possible places to go you have to consider other patrons’ comfort levels, in relation to your children’s discipline levels. For some, this could prove trick. Most parents are so desperate for those ‘adult’ activities like eating out or watching a movie, that they convince themselves that their Terror will be well-mannered “this time”- forgetting that 1 hour into the chosen activity, the child would be squirming about, asking for bathroom breaks, running around, screaming & crying, smiling at other patrons or wanting to go home.

Etiquette should dictate that as a reasonable-minded adult, you would consider the context of your destination and act accordingly. Others should not be subjected to screaming, restless children while watching a romantic comedy at 20:00; or while contemplating the meaning of the modern Rorschach at the museum or even while dining at their favourite Italian restaurant on their first date, for instance.   I guess the screaming children points to the lack of management or discipline on the parent/guardian’s part. However, there is no book on how to handle children or where the most appropriate place to take them would be.

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE children BUT… having chosen not to birth them yet, I should be able to exercise my choice, not so? There’s a time and a place for everything and children at adult arenas should either attend during kid hours, be quiet or just stay away.   Period! 

This post written in response to the WordPress weekly writing challenge

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: @Fowzia_Gamiet

ToxicSweety over and out!

Authored by Fowzia Gamiet, ToxicSweety's Pensieve is a written montage of memories, experiences and anything current and newsworthy. Taken from the Harry Potter series specifically "Goblet of Fire" a "pensieve" is a magical repository for memories. I always love hearing from readers of my blog, so please leave your memory/ comment on ToxicSweety's Pensieve. Enjoy!

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in DP Challenge, Family Matters, That's Just Life, Weekly Writing Challenge
4 comments on “Children in an adult world
  1. ToxicSweety says:

    Hey Savvy Senorita

    I think it is important for bloggers to interact with each other. I unfortunately cannot take full credit for the topic. It was a thread whereby bloggers opt to write about suggested blog topics each week.

    Thank you for being my first international comment, you have spurred me on and I look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

    Like

  2. Hi,
    I think if children have been brought up properly then there shouldn’t be any issue with them being any place where there are adults present. It definitely comes down to manners, and how to behave in society; unfortunately not all parents take the time to instil these attributes in their children.

    Like

    • ToxicSweety says:

      Hi Savvy Senorita

      Thank you for visiting my blog. It is always refreshing to hear feedback from fellow bloggers….and WOW all the way from Madrid!! I know that people across the globe read my blog (that’s according to my stats) but you are my first international comment. I think my readers have been too shy thus far! 🙂

      Anyway, I agree with you 100%. If you want your children to attend adult-oriented places then the children should behave accordingly. The challenge it seems is not getting your child access but rather disciplining your child to be able to stay.

      I have visited your blog and I like what I have read so far. It’s different from what I have seen online and I like different.

      Like

      • Hey ToxicSweety,

        Thank you for your gracious reply! Yes, it is sometimes difficult receiving such feedback!!!! I am not ‘mean’ with my comments, I enjoy responding to posts. I believe it is what blogging is all about; interaction, debates, information, opinions and discussions!! I love reading new posts!

        I have to say I merely enjoyed what I read; the topic you chose is one I think many people feel strongly about. Oh, and allow me to also add, I am pleased to be your first international comment! 🙂

        Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog also. I am happy you have liked what you have read thus far! A very nice compliment, one I appreciate 🙂

        Like

Comment and leave your blog link below

Submit email address here

Join 1,405 other followers

Search the archives
Follow me on Twitter
Instagram
This is how I spent my "Braai Day" 😍💍💞 Tied the knot and became a wifey! And ofcourse my Bujinkan peeps came in style ... Katana-clad. 
#Wedding #Bujinkan #Bride #HennaArt #Mendhi #MuslimBride #Katana #HeritageDay #BraaiDay True story.  The greatest prison people live in... #Inspiration #Prison #FreeYourMind #Africa #Fear #GreatestFear #BelieveInYourself
ToxicSweety’s Global Reach
Map
Since September 2012
  • 20,855 visitors
wordpress visitor counter
